Who We Are

The CEAR Core, led by Drs. Karen Glanz and Kevin Volpp, is comprised of faculty and staff from multiple schools within the University of Pennsylvania. The CEAR Core convenes a Steering Committee to provide oversight and guidance on all CEAR Core projects and activities.

Directors


Karen Glanz, MPH, PhD
Director, Community Engagement and Research Core
Director, UPenn Prevention Research Center
George A. Weiss University Professor
Professor of Epidemiology and Nursing
Perelman School of Medicine and School of Nursing
University of Pennsylvania
kglanz@upenn.edu

Kevin Volpp, M.D., Ph.D.
Director, Center for Health Incentives and Behavioral Economics
Health Policy Division Chief, Department of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
Founders President’s Distinguished Professor
Perelman School of Medicine and the Wharton School
University of Pennsylvania
volpp70@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Staff


Jade Avelis, PhD
Research Project Manager
Center for Health Behavior Research
jade.avelis@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Krista Scheffey, MPH, MSW
Senior Research Coordinator
Center for Health Behavior Research
krista.scheffey@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Steering Committee Members


Louis Bell, MD
Professor
Department of Pediatrics
The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
bell@email.chop.edu

Glenn Bryan, MSW
Assistant Vice President of Community Relations
University of Pennsylvania
gbryan@upenn.edu

Kenisha Campbell, MD, MPH
Associate Professor of Clinical Pediatrics
Department of Pediatrics
The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
CampbellK1@chop.edu

Carolyn Cannuscio, ScD, MSc
Associate Professor
Department of Family Medicine and Community Health
Perelman School of Medicine
cannusci@wharton.upenn.edu

John Farrar, MD, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of Biostatistics, Epidemiology and Informatics
Perelman School of Medicine
jfarrar@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Joan Gluch, PhD, RDH
Professor
Division of Community Oral Health
Director, Community Oral Health
School of Dental Medicine
gluchj@dental.upenn.edu

Ira Harkavy, PhD
Director, Netter Center for Community Partnerships
Associate Vice President
University of Pennsylvania
harkavy@upenn.edu

Marilyn Howarth, MD
Adjunct Associate Professor
Department of Emergency Medicine
Director, Community Outreach and Engagement Core, Center of Excellence in Environmental Toxicology
Perelman School of Medicine
howarthmv@gmail.com

Heather Klusaritz, PhD, MSW
Instructor
Associate Director, Center for Community and Population Health
Department of Family Medicine and Community Health and School of Social Policy and Practice
Director of Community Engagement, Center for Public Health Initiatives
heather.klusaritz@uphs.upenn.edu

Joanne Levy, MBA, MCP
Director of Student Initiatives and Founding Director, SUMR Program
Leonard Davis Institute of Health Economics
levyj@wharton.upenn.edu

Terri Lipman, PhD, CRNP, FAAN
Miriam Stirl Endowed Term Professor of Nutrition
Professor of Nursing of Children
Assistant Dean for Community Engagement
School of Nursing
lipman@nursing.upenn.edu

Hillary Nelson, PhD, MPH
Director of MPH Program
Director of Education, Center for Public Health Initiatives
hnelson@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Harris Sokoloff, PhD, MEd
Adjunct Associate Professor
Graduate School of Education
Faculty Director, Penn Project on Civic Engagement
harriss@gse.upenn.edu

Susan B. Sorenson, PhD
Professor
School of Social Policy & Practice
Director, Evelyn Jacobs Ortner Center
sorenson@sp2.upenn.edu

Mary Summers, MA, MPhil
Lecturer
Department of Political Science
University of Pennsylvania
mysummer@sas.upenn.edu

Lucy Tuton, PhD
Adjunct Professor
Department of Biostatistics and Epidemiology
Director, Program Development in Community Health
Perelman School of Medicine
tuton@upenn.edu

Caroline Watts, EdD, EdM
Senior Lecturer
Director of School and Community Engagement
Graduate School of Education
wattsca@gse.upenn.edu

Request a Consult

Submit a consultation request using our online form.

ARTICLES OF INTEREST

Researcher readiness for participating in community-engaged dissemination and implementation research: a conceptual framework of core competencies

Shea et al., 2017 Translational Behavioral Medicine

VIEW MORE